Christmas Stocking Cross Stitch

DSC_0186

The finished stocking

Hi team,

Apologies for the extended hiatus! There is a very good reason – I promise πŸ™‚ I gave birth to a beautiful daughter in early November and since then my time for crafting has been somewhat……limited?!

So the blog may have to take a back seat while I tackle being a full time mummy, more because I have less time to create new things for you than anything else.

Having said that, I’ve been working on this Christmas stockingΒ for the past few months and I finally finished it! I was super worried that I wouldn’t get it finished in time so I’m pretty pleased that it’s done & it’s still November (just)!

DSC_0187

Close up of some of the stitching

I purchased the kit from hereΒ though it looks like she may have sold out of this particular one.

DSC_0188

Close up of the name

I have to say that although I enjoyed making the stocking very much, the kit wasn’t the greatest. It was supposed to include everything you needed to make the project, but I found that quite a few of the embroidery threads ran out before I finished the project, so I had to go out and buy more. Also, the threads were all supposed to have 6 strands, but several of mine only had 5. Again, it meant I had to buy more floss.

DSC_0189

Back of the stocking

Once the cross stitch was completed, I hand stitched it to the backing fabric, then I used some iron-on interfacing on the back of the cross-stitch to hide all the threads and to protect them from getting caught on any of the presents I put inside.

Take care

Weezie

2 thoughts on “Christmas Stocking Cross Stitch

  1. Would you happen to have this pattern still? I’m trying to find a cute stocking to make for my new granddaughter and I’m not liking any that are available in stores!

Leave a Reply

