Baby Shower Thanks – How to Mass Produce a Card

wpid-wp-1411957373422.jpg

Hi team,

It was my baby shower a few weeks ago, and I thought I’d hand make my thank you cards. This meant that I was making quite a few cards…….!! While I was at it, I thought I’d share my tips for mass producing cards to make it as stress-free as possible.

1. Start Early! I started making these cards before the invites even went out – I was still working full time and I was pretty exhausted so I knew I’d need lots of time to get it all done.

2. Choose something easy(ish) I just searched You Tube for ‘Thank You Cards’ and chose one that I thought looked pretty easy. I did modify the design a little for my purpose (no pop-dots or foam tape on my cards…..otherwise that equals extra postage)

3. Make a template I think it’s really important to make a template first before just jumping in and making the cards. Partly to test the card out, to make sure you got all your cutting dimensions correct, but mostly just to see how it looks once you’ve put it all together. If you hate it, far better to change it now than when you’re part way through! Plus, you’ll need to have something to refer to when you start making all the other cards.

wpid-wp-1411955828326.jpeg

4. Production Line! Do not try to make each card individually……it will take you forever! The best thing to do is create a production line. So one evening, all I did was trim my papers down to size. The next time I worked on this it was stamping & colouring, then die cutting, adhesive application, and finally…..assembling the cards.
wpid-wp-1411955733577.jpeg

5. Stamping & Colouring Now is not the time for lots of stamping & detailed colouring, save that for your special one-off cards. For this card, I just had one stamped image that I stamped over & over on some paper. To colour I just used a sponge dipped in the ink. If I went outside the lines, so be it – I think it adds an artistic touch!

wpid-wp-1411955776224.jpeg

6. Adhesive I wish I had a tape runner! Sticking the adhesive tape was probably the longest part of the process……
wpid-wp-1411955754009.jpeg

7. Use stickers Rather than stamp my sentiment, I just used a ‘Thank You’ sticker. It was easy & quick.

8. Pre-made card bases & envelopes For mass production, I recommend using cards and envelopes which are already pre-made. It saves a lot of time and you can spend more time doing the card decorating (which is the fun bit after all).

 

Much love,

Weezie

 

 

Leave a Reply

